Board of Directors

The Vernon and District Funtastic Sports Society Board of Directors are investing their time and expertise in support of improving and advocating for sport and recreation for all in our community.

Join us – together we’re building a better community through sport we can all be proud of.

President            Jamie Austin

I have been involved with Funtastic since moving to Vernon in 2004, as a player, volunteer, board member, Vice President, and now president of the Funtastic Sports Society. 

We look forward to seeing all the ball players, sponsors, vendors, and volunteers at this years event. 

Here’s to making 2022 one of the best Funtastic yet. 

1st Vice President     Brad Steel

I have been on the Board of Directors of Funtastic since 2015. Over the past several years, as we are a working board, my responsibilities have been doing the Layout, Set-up & Egress (Tear-Down) of the event at the DND grounds.

I have a wealth of knowledge in the events and ball sectors. I have over 40 years’ experience in the arenas, multi-purpose event Centre’s and outdoor events industry. I have procured and hosted major hockey, curling, lacrosse, concerts, stage shows, MMA events at the local, provincial, national and international levels. I have negotiated those agreements and been involved with the production of the events.

I also have a storied history in hockey and fastball/slo-pitch sports as a player and coach for many years at the Provincial and National levels.

I enjoy volunteering on the Funtastic Board of Directors and happy to share my experiences. “It’s a ton of FUN!!!”

2nd Vice President               Craig Baker

My name is Craig Baker. I was born and raised in Salmon Arm and started playing ball at three. I’ve never stopped.

After moving to the coast at 18 for 10 years or so, and traveling up to Vernon for many Funtastic weekends. I met my wife and we decided to move back up to the interior.

Vernon it was. Since we moved here I haven’t missed a Funtastic event.

After taking advantage of the tourney for many years I decided to give back and started volunteering. One thing led to another and now I’m on the board

Treasurer            Leanne Wickenheiser

My name is Leanne Wickenheiser and I am a Director on the board of the Vernon BC Funtastic Sports Society.  I was born in Vernon. Lived in the local area for 6 years before moving to Abbotsford where I grew up. After meeting my husband we moved back to Vernon in 2005 where we currently reside. I have spent most of my professional career in the optical field helping patients with their eye care needs.  I have been involved in slow pitch since 2000 playing locally including the Funtastic ball tournament in Vernon since 2006.  It’s great to be involved in such a great tournament and I look forward to being an advocate of the sport in our community

Secretary             John Laporte

Since moving to Vernon, I have become a local business owner, Chamber of Commerce member, and can finally afford to give back to the community. I am a rookie on the board of directors but plan on being a valuable free agent signing.

In addition to being a baseball fan and slow pitch player I bring my past nightclub experience to the table. Helping organize a baseball/concert/beer garden/ event that type of experience will help.

There are so many moving parts leading up to and during Funtastic. “It’s exciting to combine my love of sports and entertainment while doing something productive and beneficial”. “I want to build on past success and introduce new lasting ideas”. “I sure hope we can bring in a DJ for one of the nights”

Director               Jeff Johnson

Jeff Johnson is a Juno award nominated, 5 time BCCMA producer of the year and 2017 CCMA producer of the year. Jeff’s company Bailey Way Entertainment located in Coldstream B.C., produced and or collaborated with some of Canada’s top country, pop and rock acts including Nickelback, Dallas Smith, George Canyon, Meghan Patrick ,Tyler Joe Miller,, Karen Lee Batten, Lindsay Ell, Tebey, Wes Mack, Madeline Merlo,, Small town Pistols, Brock Andrews and the The Chris Buck Band.

Director   Bryan Quint

Director Joe Patel

Manager Akbal Mund

Akbal Mund

I have been involved with FUNTASTIC since 1994 as a player, board member, Vice President, President and now I am the event manager along with another long time FUNTASTIC board member.  We are looking forward to 2022 and want to thank all our sponsors for their continued support of the event. 

Administrative Manager Diana Williamson

Wanting to be involved in volunteering in the community, I responded to an ad from Funtastic looking for directors, that was in 2000 and I have been involved since then, minus a couple years. 

Throughout the years, I have filled the roles of Director, Secretary, President and now sharing the managerial duties with another previous president.

I have seen many changes over the years from the addition of security, wristbands and technology to the general process of putting on an event to running with a business model.  The support of the ball teams, music enthusiasts, sponsors and volunteers contribute to the feeling of pride I have when we are able to donate funds back into the community. 

I look forward to seeing everyone back for a fun filled weekend.